the feath3r theory Presents: We May Never Dance Again®

“We have become victims of our own art. We touch people on the outsides of their bodies, and they us, but we cannot get to their insides and cannot reveal our insides to them. This is one of the great tragedies of our interiority-it is utterly personal and unrevealable. Often we want to say something unusally intimate to a spouse, a parent, a friend, communicate something of how we are really feeling about a sunset, who we really feel we are-only to fall strangely and miserably flat. Once in a great while we succeed, sometimes more with one person, less or never with others. But the occasional break-through only proves the rule. You reach out with a disclosure, fail, and fall back bitterly into yourself.”

The Denial of Death by Ernest Becker

A series of mini-melodramas about the denial of death and the birth of the end of the world. Told through Raja Feather Kelly and the feath3r theory's signature and surreal style of dance-theatre, an unabashed un-recycling of popular culture, We May Never Dance Again® simmers with gritty physicality and sincere storytelling as it moves through the provocative, political, and deeply personal, presenting a dance society that is shockingly isolated and yet surprisingly familiar. Performed live to a score composed by Raja Feather Kelly and Zain Alam (Humeysha) that includes Frank Sinatra, Jamiroquai, Micheal Bublé, Donna Summer, Lady Gaga, and Whitney Houston as the white noise that both soothes and drives you mad.



In conjunction with our World Premiere We May Never Dance Again®, the feath3r theory hosted our annual Gala, that is obviously a fundraiser, in the manner of a telethon, but is also a birthday party, food fest, and dance party. We were able to raise $18,484 thanks to 111 generous backers!

Direction by Raja Feather Kelly

Lighting Design by Tuce Yasak

Composed by Zain Alam

Sound Design by Emily Auciello 

Photography by Kate Enman

Video Editing by Laura Snow

Costumes by Raja Feather Kelly and Amy Gernux

Performance by Amy Gernux, Alexandria Giroux, Sara Gurevich, John Gutierrez, Rebecca Hite, Kalin Imar, Rachel Pritzlaff, Collin Ranf, Aaron Moses Robin, Coel Rodriguez, Candace Taylor, and Benjamin Wolk